A sad Anniversary this weekend. LA Riots 25 years ago, April 29th 1992.

It’s a sad reminder this weekend 1992 Los Angeles riots and not much has changed unfortunately. Last night I watched THE LOST TAPES LA Riots . I hated watching it, I have such bad memories of it. Nothing I’m sure compared to the people that were actually down there. I had been driving a bus for about two or three years at the time and if I remember right we were the only company that drove down there. It was the only time I carried in my 17 year career of driving city buses. I remember driving down Spring street in L.A. and seeing looters pulling up the the steel bars of a liquor store and looting it. I remember some started looking at me and I thought if they come after me I’m shooting. I had just watched the night before the Reginald Denny beating. Attack on Reginald Denny  .

Reginald Denny

Reginald Denny (didn’t) “Step On the Gas”

A rare interview with Reginald Denny

“Twenty-five years after Reginald Denny was dragged out of his big rig and viciously beaten on live TV during the L.A. riots, the former trucker apparently wants nothing to do with the anniversary of the violence.” More here. Where Is Reginald Denny? Trucker Who Became Key Figure in L.A. Riots Nowhere to Be Found

L.A. Riots Attacker Tells Shocking Story 20 Years Later

Sadly after 8 years of the first African American president things have only gotten worse. In my opinion he did nothing but add to the problem and did more harm than good. In the last years of his presidency even some in the black community were angry calling him out on it. But I digress, that’s my opinion.

They say “Those Who Do Not Learn History Are Doomed To Repeat It.”  No doubt we’ve been seeing it repeated throughout the country the last few years. And some say they’re about to happen again. “Twenty-five years after dozens of people died in the Los Angeles riots, nearly 60% of residents there believe more unrest is likely soon.

The six days of riots marked a low in race relations for Southern California after the white officers on trial for the beating of black driver Rodney King were acquitted.

Surveys taken in the years since have seen a recovery in residents’ belief that different races can get along, though this year’s poll shows Angelenos believe the events of 1992 will repeat.”  Read more here. Majority of L.A. residents believe riots like 1992 likely soon, study finds

There will be some TV shows this weekend showing some specials on the Riots. A great article and rundown of the shows.  “To commemorate the 25th anniversary of the riot or uprising or “incident” that torched Los Angeles in the wake of the 1992 Rodney King trial, National Geographic, A&E, Netflix, Showtime, ABC and the Smithsonian Channel have all produced films on the subject, and I recommend that you watch more than one, though it will be painful. Actually, do it because it will be painful. Seriously. Each of them has its own methodology for contending with the “why.” All of them together make it clear that what we need to be asking now is, “What will it take for human beings to wake the hell up and start actually learning from our own history?”  More here. Under Color of Authority: TV Takes on the 1992 L.A. Riots, 25 Years Later

The Lost Tapes: LA Riots (Full Episode)

If you wish to understand the present, study the past … L.A. Riots – 1992

“In a new documentary, previously unseen footage collected by the Los Angeles Police Department reveals how the narrative of the riots has changed in 25 years.” More here. What Was Lost in the Fires of the L.A. Riots

“Twenty-five years ago this week, four Los Angeles policemen — three of them white — were acquitted of the savage beating of Rodney King, an African-American man. Caught on camera by a bystander, graphic video of the attack was broadcast into homes across the nation and worldwide.” More here. When LA Erupted In Anger: A Look Back At The Rodney King Riots

“This weekend marks 100 days of the Trump administration. This milestone also coincides with a very important anniversary. Twenty-five years ago, April 29, 1992, riots exploded in Los Angeles after four policemen were acquitted after being charged with the violent beating of Rodney King, caught on video for the entire nation to see.

According to The Los Angeles Times, 63 lives were lost in the riots, with the estimated total economic cost pegged at $1 billion, with $735 million in property damage and 1,550 buildings destroyed or damaged.

But this is more than a fact of national history for me. It is personal history. I was there.” More here. Lessons Unlearned From the ’92 LA Riots 

Star ParkerStar Parker

One thing I really don’t understand is why the black community terns on it’s own and goes after blacks who have “Made it” done well accomplished a lot and call them “Uncle Toms” like Star Parker, Ben Carson, Condoleezza Rice, Clarence Thomas, I can remember them going after Colin Powell at least up until he started going after Republicans, then it seemed to be none existent.

Pushing 60 now I’d like to think I’m not a racist, I try not to be and I always used to try to give people the benefit of the doubt. But, after time in Army in the seventies seeing the racial divide and how people acted, after 17 years dealing with the public, driving a city bus. Seeing what’s going on in the country now “BLM”, Baltimore , Ferguson to name a few it’s tough. I’ve worked with and known some great black people over my lifetime and come across the very opposite. I’m very sure the same can be said on the other side. There’s bad people in all races no doubt. I do my best not to associate with out right racist in real live and on social media. I ask God to forgive me and ask for His help when I have problems with racism. I guess that’s all any of us can do. It’s a sad situation for sure.

One side of the Riots that doesn’t get much attention I think is what happened in Korea Town. La Riots store owners protect store with guns(Original recording)

L.A. Burning: The Riots 25 Years Later – Gun Store Manager David Joo Looks Back | A&E

“The National Guard and Police wouldn’t come to Korea Town. South Central Koreans understand the 2nd Amendment.” We had to bear arms

God bless America and you.

One response to “A sad Anniversary this weekend. LA Riots 25 years ago, April 29th 1992.

  1. Pingback: News and headlines. – News and Headlines